Winter Storm Warning

Back after a long hiatus!

I’m going to be traveling again, driving across the US in late December and January.

Silly time to travel, I know, but I like the cold, empty places and I’ve been craving adventure – if by “adventure” I mean “never knowing where I’m going to go next because my original plans might be thwarted by snow and ice.”

Shamelessly hotlinked from NOAA

Aiming for the tan areas.

The title of this post, incidentally, refers not to an actual storm, but the amount of posts I hope to make over the next few weeks.

I hope it’s not referring to an actual storm, anyway. While anything could happen, it’s not like I’m making another trip through the northern plains or New England, for now.

I got a great deal on New Year’s Eve in Las Vegas, which has been something I’ve wanted to do. NYE in NYC never appealed to me, but Vegas? Bring it on.

And in my continuing beer tourism, my quest to visit every brewery in America, I find that the sheer number of breweries in California (nearly 450, or almost 1/5 of all the breweries in the lower 48) will continue to stymie me unless I spend a good bit of time in that large, populous state. In about a half-dozen trips to the Republic, I’ve managed to visit… two of them. I hope to improve on that score. It’s just, I mean, how could I be in California and not give priority to wine?

The plan is to leave tomorrow, but the first night will be at a friend’s house outside of Roanoke, VA. After that… well, we’ll see. South and west, for sure.

Fasten your seat belts – it could be a bumpy ride.

About Waltz

An international man of mystery, Waltz is a puzzle wrapped in an enigma. Kind of a puzzle burrito, actually. With conundrum cheese and secret sauce. And a side of Riddle Rice.

Posted on December 20, 2013, in Travel. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Wooot! Bon voyage . . . safe travels . . . see ya in the New Year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

