Forest, Mississippi

It’s almost worth visiting here just so you can see the signs that read “City of Forest.”

Sadly, elves do not live here.

Only reason I’m here is I still had the goal of attaining a random point. The third and last random destination is not far from here, closer to the town of Morton.

The second point, which I guess I forgot to mention, was in Nevada, miles away from any road. So I got as close as I could on the road and called it good. Nevada’s got more empty spaces than the brains of reality show stars do.

The third point’s in the middle of a field. Not sure, but I think it was soybeans. Wasn’t cotton, corn, wheat or sunflowers, at any rate.

Nearest semi-interesting thing was this sign, on the corner of Measels Road (yes… Measels Road) and Reeves Road:

And next to the sign, some ruins overgrown by trees.

So I went on the Great Oracle and tried to find out if there was any other information – perhaps something about Mississippi’s troubled pre-Brown v. Board of Education school history. But a few different searches (including one for Measels Road) came up empty, and I’m frankly too tired to pursue it further.

The end of this journey is now in sight. A friend of mine got a beach house in North Carolina starting Wednesday, and my next goal is to get to that by Thursday at the latest. Wednesday would be pushing it, but let’s see how far I can get tomorrow. It’s still a long ways from here.

And with my luck, there’ll be a hurricane when I get there.

About Waltz

An international man of mystery, Waltz is a puzzle wrapped in an enigma. Kind of a puzzle burrito, actually. With conundrum cheese and secret sauce. And a side of Riddle Rice.

Posted on September 25, 2012, in Travel. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Now you know I am not normally an overwhelmingly superstitious person but I just want to prevail upon you not to call up a hurricane for North Carolina if you don’t mind. You plan to visit while you are here?

  2. Duuuuude! You going to Outer Banks? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Oh hey, how did I miss that? Does this mean you are doing research? I think I’m starting to drool…

  4. If they do plaques like that for every 27-year blip in local education history I’m surprised they’ve not run out of iron in Mississippi. Anyway, you international man of mystery you, how’re you doing? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

