Ely, Nevada

All day yesterday, on the way to Ogden, it was all I could do to stay awake.

Naturally, last night, in Ogden, I had trouble sleeping.

If I moved to Thailand or something, I’d probably be awake during the day and asleep at night like a normal person. Even the three hour time difference between Eastern and Pacific time (the latter being when I am now) doesn’t quite cut it.

There was one benefit of being up before the sun, this morning: I got treated to an excellent view of the crescent moon and Venus, which I’d totally show you if my camera had been working.

As it is, this is the only camera-phone photo I can post today:

And I wouldn’t put a whole lot of stock in its historical accuracy.

But before I left the Salt Lake area of Utah, I dropped by a Subaru dealer in SLC for some scheduled maintenance – just an oil change, really.

While I waited, I ogled their collection of carefully restored vintage Subarus, which I would totally show you if my camera had been working.

Then the guy came in and said I might have a coolant leak.

A coolant leak is bad enough, but I was about to travel across 250 miles of some of the most sparsely populated areas of the US that aren’t in Alaska. Also, desert. So I let them check it out further.

They found no coolant leak.

So, fully expecting to get stranded somewhere in the wasteland of western Utah or eastern Nevada, I got myself a full tank of gas and took off.

Well, I’ll save you the suspense: nothing happened except all I wanted to do was sleep, again. Only reason I’m posting this later than usual… okay, only two reasons. One, Pacific Time, as I mentioned above. Two, blackjack.

No, I did not visit the brothel, and anyone who tells you otherwise is lying.

But anyway, I still have a maybe-coolant-leak, and tomorrow I get to cross some even less sparsely populated sections of the US so I can visit my friends in Reno. If I get there.

But hey, that’s what adventure is all about, right?

About Waltz

An international man of mystery, Waltz is a puzzle wrapped in an enigma. Kind of a puzzle burrito, actually. With conundrum cheese and secret sauce. And a side of Riddle Rice.

Posted on September 14, 2012, in Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

