Watertown, South Dakota

There are five breweries in all of South Dakota.

Of these, one of them is a Granite City. Nothing inherently wrong with that – as I mentioned in my previous posts, I like Granite City beers and food. But after visiting two of them on this trip already, and because the route took me close to it anyway, I chose Dempsey’s in Watertown, SD.

But allow me to back up a bit. Back in Iowa, I decided that since I was relatively close, I had to geek out and visit Riverside, Iowa, future birthplace of James T. Kirk.

Yes. I did a Trek thing. Hey, my car has a FERENGI SCHOOL OF BUSINESS sticker on the rear window; what did you expect?

And yes, I know that Kirk was born in space in the retconned universe created by Spock screwing up. So what? I was in Iowa.

This is totally a thing:

The locals appear to ignore it.

That’s parked in front of “The Voyage Home Museum.” That’s a thing, too. Sadly, it didn’t open until 10 and I got there at 9 am, and still had 10 hours of driving ahead of me. Point is that they’re serious about their Trek in Riverside.

Perhaps this is why this is in the same building as the Trek museum:

I did not see Deanna Troi in there.

Someone should totally open up a brewpub in Riverside, and serve things like Romulan Ale. I’d be all over that. And maybe fewer people would need counseling.

Mightystiky, yesterday, asked a question in the comments (“What did you have at Granite City?”), so I’ll take this opportunity to answer.

When I visit a new-to-me brewpub, I like to get their sampler. Most brewpubs do this, even if it’s not explicitly on the menu; you can get four, maybe six, maybe even 12 or more sampler-size beers. At Granite City in Fort Wayne, Emily (you remember Emily from a couple days back, right?) hooked me up with eight beer samples. Actually, five beers and three blends.

Apparently, GC’s regular selections are: Northern Light Lager, a fairly typical lager that serves to try to introduce Bud Light swillers to real beer; Brother Benedict’s Bock, a German style brewed in a traditional manner; Broad Axe Stout, a Guinness equivalent (only better than imported Guinness); Duke of Wellington IPA, a fairly standard IPA; and Wag’s Wheat which is – wait for it – a wheat beer. Other than that, they have a blend of Northern Light and Brother Benedict’s called Two Pull, which is better than it sounds. And apparently special to the Fort Wayne location were two other blends: Benedict’s and the stout; and the lager and IPA. Every one of them was good in its own way, though I only got to sample a small amount of each.

Now I’ll say up front that I’m not an IPA fan. It’s a very popular style now, and some breweries seem to be competing with each other to see who can create the hoppiest brew. This is a trend that needs to stop. I know a lot of people really like overhopped beer, and that’s fine, there’s a beer for everyone; but some of the breweries are taking it way too far. Anyway, point is, while the Duke is a quite good IPA, it’s an IPA, so I’m not going to order it. Also, a lager’s a lager. It can be good, but most lagers taste faintly of Budweiser, even if they don’t try to, because Bud’s based on a lager. So I don’t usually get lagers, either. That leaves the bock, the stout, and the wheat, all of which I liked.

But when I went to dinner with Ransom and her family last night, it was the Bock I picked to accompany my dinner (a burger). So the answer to Stik’s question is “the Bock,” but if I’d had something else there, I might well have ordered the wheat or the stout. Or a Two Pull.

That’s one great thing about beer – there’s one for almost every occasion. And mood.

As for today’s destination, all I’ll say is this: I learned a very important new rule today. That is: Never choose lodging based solely on its proximity to a brewpub.

That is all.

About Waltz

An international man of mystery, Waltz is a puzzle wrapped in an enigma. Kind of a puzzle burrito, actually. With conundrum cheese and secret sauce. And a side of Riddle Rice.

Posted on September 8, 2012, in Beer, Drinking, Travel. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

