Athens

No, not Greece and definitely not Georgia, I’m spending the night in a cheap (but clean and quiet) motel in Athens, Ohio.

Today, I drove through West Virginia.

I’m telling you, that state gets a bad reputation. Sure, there’s rednecks, but there’s rednecks everywhere. The scenery is terrific and the roads are well-maintained. I’d pick WV over NJ to visit most of the time.

The big downside to WV? Very few breweries; less than a dozen in the whole state. I had opportunity on my route to visit two of them, but the first one, contrary to reports, was still not offering beer.

Interesting concept, though; it’s called the Brewstel, and it’s meant to be a hostel (inexpensive lodging) and brewery combined. But like I said – no beer yet.

No, I didn’t stay there… this time.

So I trekked on to Parkersburg, on the other side of the state, in the area that might be best known for the Mothman. Didn’t see the Mothman, but visited a decent tavern.

And then there’s Athens, a college town with way more drinking establishments than ought to be around with a drinking age of 21 in a college town, but I’m not complaining.

I find that there is a point, when I’m drinking beer – doesn’t usually happen with other drinks, only with beer – where everything, suddenly, is right with the world. I could be having a bad day, or drinking lousy beer (I wasn’t, for the most part), but when that moment happens, suddenly, I’m inexplicably happy.

I shall call that state of being… beerenity.

It’s ephemeral, of course, but not necessarily fleeting – with proper feeding, it can be sustained for an hour or more. The only downside is that by the time you achieve beerenity, you shouldn’t be driving. Or, well, substitute “I” for “you;” your mileage will vary. So to speak. Fortunately, I planned ahead tonight and walked from the motel to the pub – more than a mile each way, so as a bonus I actually got some exercise.

Tomorrow… further west.

About Waltz

An international man of mystery, Waltz is a puzzle wrapped in an enigma. Kind of a puzzle burrito, actually. With conundrum cheese and secret sauce. And a side of Riddle Rice.

Posted on September 5, 2012, in Beer, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Dude, I’m betting there are way more stills in WV than breweries.

  2. Yes, when you start waxing philosophical you’ve definitely reached a state of beerenity! 😛

    I’m still bummed you’re in OHIO and not Greece, but oh well . . .

Leave a Reply

