White Out

Today, I drove from Winslow to Shamrock, Texas – mostly in a blizzard.

I can’t believe I’m still awake. Hell, I can’t believe I’m in a warm place with internet access. Or that I managed to escape significant snow while driving west through the northern part of the country, and then hit a massive blizzard while driving through the southernmost states.

I’m getting ahead of myself, though. Remember yesterday, when I said Winslow made a tourist attraction out of the Eagles song? Well, this morning, before I left, when it was still kind of dark, I got some pictures of “Standin On The Corner Park”. Seriously, that’s its name. It’s actually kinda cool – see how the painting of the “girl in the flatbed Ford” seems like it’s a reflection in window glass? It’s not. It’s a mural. But the illusion is pretty damn clever.

Sorry about the overexposed part - it's the "US 66" shield, and it's reflective.

And then I got back on I-40, headed east. And from eastern Arizona all the way through to Amarillo, snow happened. I didn’t get any pictures of it, but if I had, they’d look something like this:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Only whiter.

So please excuse me if I cut this entry short here – today was just a bit tiring.

About Waltz

An international man of mystery, Waltz is a puzzle wrapped in an enigma. Kind of a puzzle burrito, actually. With conundrum cheese and secret sauce. And a side of Riddle Rice.

Posted on December 20, 2011, in Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Neat pics, Robert…say, is that an Eagle sitting in the window, or a statue of one?

    Drive safe and stay warm, if you can!!!

  2. Mmmmmmm . . . I could go for a DQ Oreo Blizzard. Oops.

  1. Pingback: Missouri Loves Company | Settling Up

Leave a Reply

