South Down the Coast

You can never escape; you can only move south down the coast.
-Counting Crows

Well, I survived Forks. In spite of directions from both Google Maps and my GPS, I’m sticking to U.S. 101, the coastal byway. For some reason, they keep telling me to go inland – a long way inland. Perhaps they know something I don’t, but I’m enjoying the views so far.

Like this one, of the Oregon coast.

Made it to Florence, Oregon today. It got dark, and there’s not much point in cruising the coast road at night. Tomorrow, I’m hoping to push through to Fort Bragg, CA – at least an 8 hour drive. Not much different from today, really.

Tonight, though, I’m turning in early. Sleeping last night in Forks gave me nightmares, kept me waking up all night thinking there were… presences… in the room. All day I’ve felt out of sorts, and people have been looking at me funny. But for some reason, that stopped after the sun went down. And now, I shall sign off, for I must feed.

About Waltz

An international man of mystery, Waltz is a puzzle wrapped in an enigma. Kind of a puzzle burrito, actually. With conundrum cheese and secret sauce. And a side of Riddle Rice.

Posted on December 5, 2011, in Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Goddamn, I love that song.

    Your pictures, too.

  2. I told Soph you were in Forks & she went ballistic!

    Wow … almost to CA! Can’t wait to see you! 🙂

  3. Highway 101 comes to a standstill during rush hour once you hit the bay area. Do you have your g p s programmed to take you away from traffic congestion?

  4. This is true, Rachel. Waltz, once you hit Sausalito your best bet is to head over to 580 East! If you’re coming here, anyway. Otherwise, you’re just screwed.

Leave a Reply

