Day 5: Stowe, VT

I don’t ski.

Now, I wouldn’t be above strapping a fake cast on my leg and sitting by the fire in the lodge, but skiing is an outdoor activity that also has one of the weirdest spellings of any English word ever, rivaled only by syzygy.

So for me to spend the night in Stowe would be like a teetotaler spending the day at a brewery. But I’m doing it anyway, just because that’s where my semi-random path led me.

For starters, yes, I managed to wake my ass up before sunrise. In fact, I managed to wake up, shower, put all my shit in the car, and get pictures of the sunrise just before blasting out of Lubec.

Proof!

Along the way, I visited three breweries. Two of them, Sea Dog (Bangor, ME) and Oak Pond Brewing Company (Middleofnowhere, ME), were not open when I drove by – Sea Dog looks like it’s a great brewpub when it’s open; Oak Pond is just a brewery in a barn. Nothing wrong with that, but brewers like that don’t tend to have hours.

The third, Sunday River, I managed to hit right around lunchtime, and behold! It’s a brewpub.

Just in time for an emergency bacon cheeseburger

Somewhere along the way, I ran into a minor delay for some road construction.

They LIED. The road work stretched for 1.87 miles!

And…

Making this bold so everyone knows how important this is…

I found the Best Place EVER!

I found the place that PRINTS BACON!!!

Well, I got to Stowe just as the sky began to darken, so no pictures tonight. Not even sure if there’s anything worth taking pictures of – the place is kinda an upscale tourist trap. There used to be a brewpub in town, but it closed for good recently (moment of silence … … … ) but the front desk here recommended a place called Sunset Grille. So I’m going down to the Sunset Grille.

And now you’ll be hearing Don Henley in your head for the rest of the day. “Meanwhile, have another beer,” indeed. You’re welcome!

About Waltz

An international man of mystery, Waltz is a puzzle wrapped in an enigma. Kind of a puzzle burrito, actually. With conundrum cheese and secret sauce. And a side of Riddle Rice.

Posted on November 22, 2011, in Beer, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. So that’s why Kevin Bacon is absolutely EVERYWHERE! Glad that mystery is solved.

    Now all I want to do is dance…

  2. Ok so now you’re backtracking or heading further north before going west? Oh that’s right . . . Ohio tomorrow! Crazy mixed up cross-country trek. Happy Turkey Day, Turkey! šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

