Day 3: Lubec, ME

Yeah, all these states starting with “M” get confusing for me when it comes to remembering their abbreviations. In case I messed that one up, it’s supposed to be Maine. At least Maine is easy to spell.

Long drive today – for some unknown (and, likely, unknowable) reason, the GPS sent me around between Manchester, NH and Boston, instead of through Concord as I was expecting. Didn’t matter much, though, other than tacking on some drive time – and I even got to see something I’d never even heard of because of it – more on that below.

Today’s map (again, approximate route, but I think I got it pretty close this time):

By the way, you do not want to know how long the HTML code is for this sort of thing. Fortunately for me, I can do it with Ctrl+A, Ctrl+C, Ctrl+V. Praise Google!

No breweries today, by the way – too long a trip, and I wanted to get here at a reasonable hour. “Reasonable” is relative – apparently in November, the sun sets at 4 pm in Maine, a result of a combination of its position on the eastern edge of the Eastern time zone and its high latitude. And “here” is Water Street Tavern&Inn on (duh) Water Street in Lubec. I can see Canada from here, but not Russia.

So how did I end up here? Well, embarrassingly, I hadn’t planned this far ahead in my reservations. See, I felt like I needed to play most of the trip by ear, because November in the north sometimes equals snow. So this morning, after finding bars (cell phone bars, not drinking bars – what do you think I am? Oh, yeah, nevermind, don’t answer that), I called the number for a likely-looking inn in Lubec (a town whose website calls it a four-season resort – don’t you believe it, though).

The owners, in a development that pushed the limits of my irony meter, were in Florida on vacation (see, normal people go south in November), but they answered the phone and said, “Well, we’re not there, but feel free to stay there anyway.” And took my info right there over the phone. Well, okay! And that part went without a hitch. Plus, the place is just awesome. They even have wi-fi here, but I was warned not to use my mobile phone unless I wanted to pay roaming fees from Canada. Having been in a similar situation in the UK (whilst on the western coast of Wales, I got a text: “Welcome to Ireland! Calls to the UK are 51p/minute!” – which is bloody robbery), I’m ignoring my phone for the duration.

But I’m getting ahead of myself.

Let’s start with the morning, when I was able to get decent pics of my lodgings in Northfield, Centennial House B&B. Nice place, friendly and helpful hosts. And the breakfast involved bacon, which is always a plus.

Centennial House B&B

I love the smell of bacon in the morning. It smells like... bacon.

Up there, I mentioned visiting a place I’d never heard of before. I just saw the sign on the road and decided, what the hell – I need to stretch my legs for a bit. It’s billed as America’s Stonehenge, and the claim is that the site is several thousand years old and was used as a calendar, like Stonehenge. The ruins, however, had to be reconstructed. I’m still not sure of its authenticity, but at least it was a nice hike through the woods. Oh, and alpacas.

Alpadoodle?

Help! Your poodle has had sex with my alpaca!

…I’m still not sure what alpacas have to do with possible ancient calendar sites in North America, but they are awfully damn cute.

As I said, I visited no breweries on this leg, but that’s okay – I’d picked up a growler of an English brown style ale at Roy Pitz back in Pennsylvania, and I have that to drink. Tomorrow, I’m going to spend the day in this area catching up on things, doing some trip planning for the next few days, and visiting Quoddy Head State Park (as noted in a post some ways back).

Oh, one final thing – I was prepared for cold weather, rain, snow, high winds; you know, fall weather in the North. What I wasn’t prepared for was that the thermometer in my car registered mid-sixties for most of the trip. It’s colder than that now, of course, and windy, and it’s supposed to be in the thirties tomorrow – but I’ll take any mild days I can get.

About Waltz

An international man of mystery, Waltz is a puzzle wrapped in an enigma. Kind of a puzzle burrito, actually. With conundrum cheese and secret sauce. And a side of Riddle Rice.

Posted on November 20, 2011, in Travel. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Alpacas are awfully cute. It sounds like the trip is going well so far for you. I suppose you won’t be able to call anytime soon what with being so close to Canada most of the time (roaming, as you mentioned). I’ll send you an email and, when you feel inclined, you can respond and we’ll catch up some. Meanwhile, not being able to myself, I know you won’t hesitate to hoist one or two for me. Yeah, like I even needed to ask. 🙂

  2. Can you take the alpaca with you? I think I’d like to have him as a pet. 🙂

    I cackled out loud about the hotel owners in Maine who were in Florida, which meant I had to read it to Bob . . . who looked at me like “that was funny WHY?” Sheesh.

    So stay warm, and keep on trekkin’!

Leave a Reply

