East

Although I acquired a few more emergency-kit provisions today, that’s boring, so I’m going to talk about the first objective of this upcoming trip: the easternmost point of the continental U.S.

Now, according to the Great Oracle, that point is West Quoddy Head, Maine.

If you’re not into clicking links, here’s a pic of the lighthouse at that spot:

Yes, that's land even further east. But it's an island, and besides, it's Canada.

So hey, that’s pretty cool. The lighthouse is, I believe, the easternmost structure on the US mainland.

Another thing about Quoddy Head: it’s right at the Canadian border, a border that I’ll be sticking pretty close to throughout most of the journey west. As I said in my first entry, I’ll be staying within the US not out of any dislike of Canada but simply because my goal this trip is to see the US.

Maybe I’ll do a similar thing in Canada one day, but if so, it’ll be during the summer.

Anyway… I thought I might stay there two nights, just so I can spend the day around the lighthouse and the nearby town of Lubec, which seems pretty cool. (I’m just sad that I’m not going to be able to see the International Hat Exhibit at the Lubec Memorial Library.) Only problem is that while the town boasts a tourism industry, smart tourists only visit there during the summer, so many of the lodgings are closed in November. Dumb tourists like me might have trouble finding a place to stay. Of course, I could try to make reservations, but once I do that, my time schedule is locked in. That would be a commitment, and I can’t have that.

This, I suspect, will be the case through most of my trip – the fun of finding places to crash. Hey, that’s part of the challenge!

About Waltz

An international man of mystery, Waltz is a puzzle wrapped in an enigma. Kind of a puzzle burrito, actually. With conundrum cheese and secret sauce. And a side of Riddle Rice.

Posted on October 19, 2011, in Travel. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That is one gorgeous lighthouse! Maybe you can just stay with them. Ask if you can wash windows or something. You could do that for the entire trip. You know enough people through the Net. Just post the route and ask who lives close or has friends or relatives near the route. Seems easy enough. Or sleep in the car now that you’ve got some emergency provisions. đŸ˜‰

  2. Rachel the Magnificent

    http://www.couchsurfing.org/

    You should totally check this out. It think it’s your answer.

Leave a Reply

