Preparation

I have a lot to do to prepare for this trip.

In addition to the obvious (packing), I need to put together some emergency supplies, because I’ll be driving through some of the coldest parts of the country in late November and early December. I figure, at a minimum:

  • zero-rated sleeping bag
  • snow shovel / cat litter
  • mobile internet access
  • camp stove
  • flares
  • more tunes for my iPod (essential)
  • emergency rations / water
  • hardcopy road atlas for when my GPS fails, which will be at the worst possible moment
  • car charger for electronics
  • cold-weather clothing
  • tequila

Of course, today, my mind stopped at the last item and refused to move forward until I took care of that. See, in addition to being a beer snob, I’m also a tequila snob. I like the good stuff. Life’s too short to drink Cuervo Gold.

So I went to a local tequila bar, expecting to maybe get a margarita and a burrito.

I asked the bartender, “What do you have new and good in tequila?”

Hussong’s,” he said, indicating an unassuming little blue bottle behind the bar.

“Want,” I said.

…I swear I don’t know how I’ve missed tasting this stuff before now. I mean, I thought I’d had good tequila It’s a reposado, but it has the character, taste and look of an anejo, at the price of a blanco.

I know some of you are going, “So what? Tequila is tequila, and besides, it’s disgusting.”

Au contraire. (Or whatever the Spanish is for au contraire).

Best. Tequila. Ever.

Sorry, Don Julio. I have a new true love.

You know how most tequila kinda burns going down? I know, that’s its charm. But this stuff? It was like honey. Only it was agave. Not honey. I only had a couple of sips, of course, but that was enough.

Well, now I know what my emergency tequila is going to be.

I’ll work on the other stuff tomorrow.

About Waltz

An international man of mystery, Waltz is a puzzle wrapped in an enigma. Kind of a puzzle burrito, actually. With conundrum cheese and secret sauce. And a side of Riddle Rice.

Posted on October 17, 2011, in Tequila, Travel. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Somehow I missed where you are going but your list of emergency stuff tells me you’re not really going to be anywhere off the beaten path or your list of supplies would not have things like more tunes for your iPod and mobile Internet access interspersed with a zero-rated sleeping bag and emergency rations/water. Let me guess, you haven’t had survival training for the mountains in the winter, have you? Flares? Don’t you have those all the time? What about the triangles? But for snow…we’re talking chains for the tires not cat litter (unless the cat is coming along for the ride and as the possible meal if you get lost for more than a week) and unless you’re planning on taking propane with you, screw the stove (or are you actually camping out? if so, then a stove is good). If you’re driving from place to place and planning to stay at motels/hotels and the worst you’re worried about is getting lost you really don’t need more than some warm thermals, heavy socks, boots, a good jacket, hat, gloves, plenty of water, a few meals you can open with pull-top and some nuts/chocolate. If you were going to be hiking around somewhere you’d want to add some matches, a tin can, aluminum foil, some rope, glove and boot liners and some snowshoes.

    Geez, I think that’s everything but it’s been about 30 years since I had survival training and we didn’t have any mobile or electronic devices to worry about! ROFL Trust me, if you were stranded in the elements, the last thing you’d be doing is looking for you iPod so you’d have tunes because you’d want to hear any wolves coming to eat you or any people coming to rescue your sorry butt! 😛

  2. What an inspiring read as I was swilling my tepid and over “polluted” breakfast coffee in sunny Tennessee. Makes me yearn to broaden my horizons a little….I wish you safe and inspired travels through the chilly north; here, it is still Easter-type weather, unbefitting October. But I am a d. yankee at heart and aware of the value of a beautiful, crrisp October day.

Leave a Reply

