Boobies and Beer

Someone told me a blog gets more hits if it has pictures of boobies. So here you go – I hope this works:

boobies

Here's a nice pair.

With that out of the way…

I said yesterday that I want to visit every microbrewery in the US. Of course, that is an infinite goal – they keep closing some and opening others. But I can live with that.

Today, though, I decided I might need to modify it further. A local wine shop had a tasting of some beers they’d just gotten in from Brooklyn, from a brewery called Sixpoint.

About Brooklyn… The last trip I made was to New York City, during Craft Beer Week. I was, naturally, excited about this. The idea was, you buy this coupon book and each coupon is redeemed at a different pub for a different craft beer – and NYC being NYC, there were dozens of them. I only got to try, like, three. Based solely on those three, my opinion of New York City beers is not very good.

Sixpoint, I’m afraid, did nothing to change my opinion on NYC beers.

Now, I’m not saying the beers were bad (so don’t sue me, Sixpoint.) But there seems to be this competition going on among microbreweries now to load up on hops to achieve the magic 100 IBU mark (IBU stands for “International Bitterness Unit,” and, believe it or not, is a measure of how bitter a beer is). It’s possible to have a high IBU and still have a balanced beer, usually by using roast malt (resulting in a darker beer) or cranking up the alcohol content, or both.

Lots of hopheads out there; I’m not one of them. I think it’s great that beer is varied enough so that people of wildly differing tastes can have something to enjoy. It’s just too bad (for me) that there seems to be an overemphasis on hops right now.

So my revised goal is: visit every brewery in the US that has beer I don’t dislike.

That should still keep me busy indefinitely.

About Waltz

An international man of mystery, Waltz is a puzzle wrapped in an enigma. Kind of a puzzle burrito, actually. With conundrum cheese and secret sauce. And a side of Riddle Rice.

Posted on October 16, 2011, in Beer, Travel. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You, my friend, are a nut. >.< But I'm glad to have you here!

  2. Wow, Blue-footed Boobies from The Galapagos Islands! I was just watching a special on the islands last night and saw them dive bombing for food. It was rather wicked. I thought to myself, “I want dive bombing boobies.” Just don’t give them any beer. They have a hard enough time dodging the rocks in that shallow water without being all hopped up!

Leave a Reply

