Sharing the Missouri

Though I got an early start, and much of today’s journey was under sunny skies, I still don’t have any pictures.

Why?

Because it was boring, that’s why.

Not ugly, by any means, but the only thing on the route that stuck out – and it really was like a sore thumb – was the Jefferson Davis Memorial in Kentucky. Here’s a shot of it from Wikipedia:

Might have become the father of his country, but pulled out just in time.

Looks a *bit* familiar…

That’s right; it looks like the Washington Monument, only… gray. You could see it for miles.

To avoid further alienating Southern readers, I’ll shut up about it now.

Made it across the Mississippi today, to Cape Girardeau, Missouri – about which the best thing I can say is it’s not dry. Apparently, Missouri doesn’t have any dry counties, which surprised me. But the one place I did go to, I was like “So what kind of beer do you have,” and he was like “Both kinds. Bud and Bud Light.”

Yeah. I’ll have a Dr. Pepper.

The forecast continues clear over the middle states, so I’m going to keep heading vaguely west, rather than southwest. Looks like I can be in Springfield, MO around lunchtime tomorrow, and Springfield has an actual brewpub, so I may just crash there for Christmas Eve. After that… well… maybe I can cross Kansas in one shot; maybe not. Or maybe I’ll fall asleep trying.

About Waltz

An international man of mystery, Waltz is a puzzle wrapped in an enigma. Kind of a puzzle burrito, actually. With conundrum cheese and secret sauce. And a side of Riddle Rice.

Posted on December 23, 2013, in Travel. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Elizabeth Mongomery

    Dan tells me Kansas ain’t no fun, especially Wichita. I don’t know myself but his chief complaint was the lack of smiles and general unfriendliness. Probably, the best thing about crossing Kansas will be that, when you are done, you can say…. wait for it…. “I’m not in Kansas anymore.” Sorry if I stole that one from you but, hey, you’re better than that, right?

    I was in a craft store yesterday (It was madness. Isn’t my medication supposed to prevent this kind of behavior?) and saw a display (one of many) of christmas debri and I thought I would see what was on sale now that the holidays were over … and then I remembered; only MY holiday was over.

    Happy and Joyous whatever the hell today is to you today. I wish you peace, joy, and freedom from suffering (even if it means finding a decent brewpub in your immediate future… maybe especially).

  2. *LOL* I bet they have both kinds of music, too (Country AND Western).

Leave a comment